creative diy camera strap

IMG_1523

Who out there doesn’t want a uniquely creative, comfy camera strap? When I upgraded to my new camera last year, it was one of the first projects on my “to do” list. And of course I used recycled leather because, well, that’s my thing. But this strap could easily be made using fabric.

***

What You’ll Need:

-strap included with the camera
-sewing machine
-2 strips of leather or fabric (I cut mine 2 1/2″ x 25″ which is the same length of the strap part of my existing strap and 1″ wider than the current strap’s width to allow for 1/2″ seam allowance on each side.)
another scrap of leather or fabric for the end pieces (approximately 3″ x 7″)

Optional:
-Fray Check
-Scrap Fabric for Embellishments

***

What You’ll Do:

IMG_1495

First, trace around the leather piece which holds the strap to the nylon ends.
Mark where the smaller end of the strap comes through.

IMG_1496

Cut this pattern out.

IMG_1498

Either fold your smaller scrap of leather or trace around your pattern ending with a bowtie shape as shown above and in the photo below.

IMG_1499

Mark on the wrong side the width of the small strap (you marked this width on your pattern)

IMG_1500

Carefully snip this opening in both pieces.

IMG_1502

My materials: two strips of leather and fabric lining along with the two leather end pieces.

IMG_1504

Pin or clip the two strips, right sides facing.

IMG_1507

Stitch along each side using 1/2″ seam allowance.

IMG_1508

Turn right side out.

IMG_1509

Topstitch along each side for a smoother, finished look.

IMG_1510

I have to add a little whimsical embellishment. This part is strictly up to you.
If you do this, use fun, contrasting thread and scrap pieces of fabric or leather.

IMG_1511

Scrunch up your fabric and go around the raw edges with a little Fray Check.

IMG_1512

Because I’m so cheap,
I decided to use my existing strap.
Using your seam ripper, rip out the thread holding the nylon end into place.

IMG_1513

Pull back both sides and cut out the black nylon, clipping as close to the inside seam as possible.

IMG_1516

Enter your little bowtie scraps. Insert the end of the black strap into the clipped part.

IMG_1518

Fold over, secure with pin or clip, and sew across both pieces to attach the strap ends.
Do this with both pieces and ends.

IMG_1519

IMG_1521

Put your finished strap between the widest end of the leather and secure with pins or clips.
Stitch completely around the perimeter of the end piece, going over the part you stitched earlier to give it a more secure hold on the end straps.

IMG_1523

Enjoy your new, handmade strap!
Options:
-Use strong, colorful ribbon in place of the little black nylon straps.
-Add a toggle closure to the end to secure the strap to the camera instead of the existing pieces.
-Add a little padding to the outer piece to make it more comfy.
-Use RECYCLED fabric or leather – it’s always more interesting.
If you have any questions, please feel free to give me a shout as my explanations are sometimes a little discombobulated – go figure.
*NOTE*
Sorry about the watermark, folks. With Pinterest (as wonderful as it is) and Tumblr and, well, everything, it’s becoming increasingly necessary to do this to retain ownership.
11 thoughts on “creative diy camera strap

  1. Thank you for taking the time to show us the steps for this. I have thought about doing this for ages, now I can get going on it! – Happy Valentines Day to you and your family! xo

  2. love it Lori! when i made my strap cover i added some padding and now its extra comfy and i can carry it all day without pain! even with a full lens and flash! personal camera straps are the best!

  3. You are so nice to post these tutorials! I love your embellishments! However, I am not as good on the sewing machine as I used to be….I prefer to buy my bags and such from you! 8 and counting as a matter of fact! 🙂

  4. This is great Lori, thanks for sharing and hope your arm is on the mend. As much as i think, "I can do this", taking the time is another story right now, any chance you might make these and put them in your shop? I love the look!

  5. Awesome tutorial, love it! I have the straps that came with my cameras (I am a Canon devotee too) and this would sure fun it up! Now, only if I had a working sewing machine (sigh).p.s. I add watermarks for the same reason…I started seeing my photos pop up around the internet.

Leave a Reply

